E-resources, available at scientific library of al-Farabi KazNU

The library of al-Farabi is a structural subdivision of the Leading State Institution - Kazakh National University named after al-Farabi, located in one of the most picturesque district of the city, in a unique, beautiful student campus, known as "the KazNU".

The library of the Kazakh National University named after al-Farabi started functioning immediately after the opening of the University in 1934. All activity of the library was aimed at achieving the quality of information and library services of educational and research processes of the University, focused on effectiveness, strength of the position, on correspondence to the image and reputation of the University of Innovative Type, accordingly, with the level of service of libraries of major elite universities.

2012 year is marked with a special landmark event in the history of the library - moving to a new modern building, which has no analogues throughout the Central Asia, equipped with new technology and communication solutions, which are harmoniously intertwining with elements of Oriental (East)style.

There were only 6 194 books in the library in 1934, as of today, the fund contains more than 2 million copies of books. From year to year, the library is updated with new editions. Information infrastructure of the library is presented with scientific work of the higher-education teaching personnel, textbooks, monographs, thesis researches, classic art and pedagogical literature, rare books, and manuscripts of the XVI-XIX centuries, abstract journals on traditional and electronic media and 300 thousand periodical editions.

Rare books in the number of 14306 copies are stored in the library fund, including books in Old Russian language - 11370 copies, in a foreign language - 2154 copies, books of unusual format - 782 copies, abstracts and dissertations, as well as very interesting books about religion - the Quran and the Bible and others.

The total area of the library is 17 856 m2. In its structure there are 11 subscriptions, classical reading room with the area of 1850m2 with 780 seats, Club of scientists for carrying out of mass events (meetings, debates, round table), a Master Hall, constantly updated with new abstracts and dissertation works, halls of periodicals, for individual work and group sessions.

There are private exhibition space of more than 1800 m2, 4 unique conference halls with 300, 80, 60 and 50 seats and the Electronic library with 270 seats, including the media area, work area with Internet, area for working with graphics programs, electronic resources work area, work area with personal notebooks.

There is a communication and relaxation area with a dining room with 75 seats for readers' rest. There are the Center of al - Farabi at the territory of the library, which is dedicated to the study of the scientific heritage educator and a Museum telling about the work and life of the great scientist of the East.

Today, the library is a major cultural and information center, which hosts the University scientific forums, conferences, trainings, events of international and republican level.The fact that no event takes place without its participation and without its bookstells about the current location of the library in the life of the University. On weekdays and on holidays, the Library of al-Farabi is together with the University, it does its best in order to fit the model of "Al-Farabi University Smart city"!

Электронные ресурсы, доступные из научной библиотеки КазНУ им.аль-Фараби

Библиотека Аль-Фараби - структурное подразделение ведущего вуза страны – Казахского национального университета им. аль-Фараби, расположенное в одном из живописнейших районов города, в уникальном, красивом студенческом кампусе, известном как  «КазГУград».

Библиотека КазНУ им. аль-Фараби начала функционировать сразу же после открытия университета в 1934 году. Вся ее деятельность была направлена на достижение качества информационно-библиотечного обслуживания учебного и научного процессов университета, на результативность и на прочность позиций, на соответствие имиджу и репутации университета инновационного типа, соответственно с уровнем обслуживания библиотек крупных элитных вузов.

2012 год в истории библиотеки ознаменован особым знаменательным событием - переезд в новое современное здание, не имеющее аналогов по всей Средней Азии, оснащенное новыми технологиями и коммуникационными решениями, гармонично переплетающимися с элементами восточного стиля.

В 1934 году в библиотеке было всего 6 194 книги и на сегодняшний день фонд содержит более 2 миллионов экземпляров книг. Из года в год библиотека пополняется новыми изданиями. Информационная инфраструктура библиотеки представлена научными трудами профессорско-преподавательского состава, учебниками, монографиями, диссертациями, классической художественной и педагогической литературой, редкими книгами и рукописями XVI-XIX вв., реферативными журналами на традиционных и электронных носителях и 300 тыс. периодических изданий.

В фонде библиотеки сохранены редкие книги в количестве 14306 экз., в том числе на старорусском языке - 11370 экз., на иностранном языке - 2154 экз., книги необычного формата – 782 экз., авторефераты и диссертации, а так же очень интересные книги о религии  - Коран и Библия  и другие.

Общая площадь библиотеки составляет 17 856 м2. В  ее структуре 11 абонементов, классический читальный зал площадью 1850 м2 на 780 посадочных мест, Клуб ученых для проведения массовых мероприятий (встречи, диспуты, круглый стол), Зал магистратуры, постоянно пополняющийся новыми авторефератами и диссертационными работами, залы периодических изданий,  для индивидуальной  работы и групповых занятий. 

Имеется собственная выставочная площадка на более чем 1800 м2, 4 уникальных конференц-зала на 300, 80, 60 и 50 посадочных мест и Электронная библиотека на 270 посадочных мест, включающая в себя мультимедийную зону, зону работы с Интернетом, зону для работы с графическими программами, зону работы с электронными ресурсами, зону для работы с личными ноутбуками. 

Для отдыха читателей имеется коммуникационно-релаксационная зона со столовой на 75 посадочных мест.

На территории библиотеки расположен Центр аль-Фараби, занимающийся изучением научного наследия просветителя и Музей, рассказывающий о творчестве и жизненном пути великого ученого Востока.

На сегодняшний день библиотека является основным культурно-информационным центром, где проводятся университетские научные форумы, конференции, тренинги, мероприятия международного и республиканского уровня. О сегодняшнем месте библиотеки в жизни университета говорит и тот факт, что ни одно мероприятие не проходит без ее участия и без ее книг. И в будни, и в праздники Библиотека Аль-Фараби вместе с университетом, она делает все возможное, чтобы соответствовать модели «Al-Farabi University Smart city»!